APSA acclaims, at a global level, the prolific output from an area representing 70 countries and areas.

Films are submitted across four categories:

  • Feature Film
  • Animated Feature Film
  • Youth Feature Film
  • Documentary Feature Film

Awards are presented for the following achievements:

  • Best Feature Film
  • Best Animated Feature Film
  • Best Documentary Feature Film
  • Best Youth Feature Film
  • Achievement in Directing
  • Best Screenplay
  • Achievement in Cinematography
  • Best Performance by an Actress
  • Best Performance by an Actor
  • Jury Grand Prize

Additional awards are presented for outstanding achievement

  • FIAPF Award – The FIAPF – International Federation of Film Producers Associations Award for outstanding achievement in film in the Asia Pacific region.
  • Cultural Diversity Award under the patronage of UNESCO – The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Award for outstanding contribution to the promotion and preservation of cultural diversity through film
  • Young Cinema Award in partnership with NETPAC (Network for the Promotion of Asian Cinema) and Griffith Film School (GFS) recognises the abundant emerging talent of the Asia Pacific.

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.