APSA acclaims, at a global level, the prolific output from an area representing 70 countries and areas.

Films are invited across four categories:

  • Feature Film (60+ minutes)
  • Animated Feature Film (40+ minutes)
  • Youth Feature Film (60+ minutes and made for and/or about young people to the age of 18 years)
  • Documentary Feature Film (40+ minutes)

Awards are presented for the following achievements:

  • Best Film
  • Best Animated Film
  • Best Documentary Film
  • Best Youth Film
  • Best Director
  • Best Screenplay
  • Best Cinematography
  • Best Performance
  • Best New Performer
  • Jury Grand Prize

Additional awards are presented for outstanding achievement

  • FIAPF Award – for outstanding achievement in film in the Asia Pacific region.
  • Cultural Diversity Award – for outstanding contribution to the promotion and preservation of cultural diversity through film.
  • Young Cinema Award in partnership with NETPAC and Griffith Film School (GFS) – awarded to a first or second time feature director to recognise the abundant emerging talent of the Asia Pacific.

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.