APSA Charter Rules & Regulations


(click link above to download, or view via embedded PDF below – please note a PDF reader is required)



A film will be eligible if it achieves at least nine (9) out of a possible twelve (12) maximum points in Item 1 and at least ten (10) out of a maximum nineteen (19) in Item 2 of the criteria.


Item 1.         Content


A.      Film is based on subject matter or underlying material from or about the Asia Pacific region;

B.      Film is predominantly (over 50%) set in the Asia Pacific region; (Films set outside of the Asia Pacific region, that deal with Asia Pacific diaspora may be awarded a maximum of 2 points)

C.      Lead characters are from the Asia Pacific region;

D.      Original dialogue recorded in a language from the Asia Pacific region. Silent films will receive the maximum of 3 points.



Item 2.           Creatives

E.      The majority of creative talent must be predominantly from the Asia Pacific region, meaning they must be born in the Asia Pacific region or hold a current passport from a country or area in the region or normally reside in the region.

i.   Director/Co-Director

ii.  Screenwriter

iii. Producer/Co-Producer

iv. Cinematographer

v.  Editor

vi. Composer

vii.          Lead Performers:

Lead (1)

Lead (2)

viii. Additional points for APSA Academy member involvement in any of the above key roles




Maximum of 3 points


Maximum of 3 points


Maximum of 3 points


Maximum of 3 points


Maximum of 12 points


















Maximum of 19 points


The APSA definition of the 78 countries and areas that comprise the Asia Pacific region has been based on culture and heritage rather than politics, borders or boundaries.


South Central Asia

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Bangladesh
  3. Bhutan
  4. India
  5. Islamic Republic of Iran
  6. Kazakhstan
  7. Kyrgyzstan
  8. Maldives
  9. Nepal
  10. Pakistan
  11. Sri Lanka
  12. Tajikistan
  13. Turkmenistan
  14. Uzbekistan

South Eastern Asia

  1. Brunei Darussalam
  2. Cambodia
  3. Indonesia
  4. Lao People’s Democratic Republic
  5. Malaysia
  6. Myanmar
  7. Philippines
  8. Singapore
  9. Thailand
  10. Timor-Leste
  11. Vietnam

Eastern Asia

  1. People’s Republic of China including:
  2. Hong Kong (PRC)
  3. Macau (PRC)
  4. Taiwan
  5. Democratic People’s Republic of Korea
  6. Japan
  7. Mongolia
  8. Republic of Korea
  9. Russian Federation

Western Asia

  1. Armenia
  2. Azerbaijan
  3. Bahrain
  4. Egypt
  5. Georgia
  6. Iraq
  7. Israel
  8. Jordan
  9. Kuwait
  10. Lebanon
  11. Oman
  12. Qatar
  13. Saudi Arabia
  14. Syrian Arab Republic
  15. Türkiye
  16. United Arab Emirates
  17. Yemen
  18. Palestine


  1. Australia
  2. New Zealand


  1. Federated States of Micronesia
  2. Guam
  3. Kiribati
  4. Marshall Islands
  5. Nauru
  6. Northern Mariana Islands
  7. Palau


  1. Fiji
  2. New Caledonia
  3. Papua New Guinea
  4. Solomon Islands
  5. Vanuatu


  1. American Samoa
  2. Cook Islands
  3. French Polynesia
  4. Hawai’i (USA)
  5. Niue
  6. Pitcairn Islands
  7. Rapa Nui (Chile)
  8. Samoa
  9. Tokelau
  10. Tonga
  11. Tuvalu
  12. Wallis and Futuna

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.