Nomination Details

Ceremony Year 2007

Nomination Detail

Three of China’s leading cinematographers.

Fei Zhao made his feature film debut in 1986 as cinematographer for acclaimed director, Tian Zhuangzhuang’s The Horse Thief. His many successful feature film credits include, The Last Eunuch, the award-winning, Raise The Red Lantern, which won him Best Cinematography award from both the Los Angeles Film Critics Association and the National Society of Film Critics (USA). In 1998 he shot Chen Kaige’s The Emperor and the Assassin and earlier this century, Woody Allen’s Small Time Crooks and Curse of the Jade Scorpion.

Mark Lee Ping-bing’s name is inseparable from that of Hou Hsiao-hsien, having accompanied the master on his cinematic sojourn for two decades, and shooting ten of his films, including such classics as City of Sadness (1989), as well as recent work Café Lumiere (2004), Three Times (2005) and Flight of the Red Balloon (2007).

Tao Yang worked as cinematographer on the feature films, The Sun Also Rises (2007), Curiosity Kills the Cat (2006), One Summer With You (2005), Little Red Flowers (2005), About Love (2004), Lan Yu (2002), Jinji Pojiang (2000), and So Close to Paradise (1999).


The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.