Celebrating the Cinematic Asia Pacific region

The 2019 Asia Pacific Screen Awards competition is officially open. Over the history of the awards, the APSA Competition has featured near 3,000 films. We look forward to uncovering the new and powerful stories of 2019.

Film vie for a coveted Asia Pacific Screen Awards in three stages for 10 Feature Film categories;

  • Best Feature Film
  • Best Animated Feature Film
  • Best Documentary Feature Film
  • Best Youth Feature Film
  • Best Screenplay
  • Achievement in Cinematography
  • Best Performance by an Actress
  • Best Performance by an Actor
  • Achievement in Directing
  • Cultural Diversity Award under the patronage of UNESCO

Three additional awards are announced in the lead up to the Ceremony and presented on the night; the Young Audience Award in partnership with NETPAC and Griffith Film School to a first or second time Director from the APSA competition pool and the FIAPF Award for outstanding achievement in film.

The APSA International Jury, may at there discretion award a Jury Grand Prize.

Winners will be announced on 21 November at a black-tie gala ceremony in Brisbane, attracting the region’s best and brightest filmmakers.


Back to news

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.