The Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) has been announced as the winner of the Best Marketing Campaign in the 2009 Australian Event Awards in Sydney last night.

APSA was among events including The Biennale of Sydney, the Australian Open and Adelaide Fringe 2009 honoured at the ceremony last night as the most innovative and outstanding from the Australian events industry.

The judging panel of event industry experts co-chaired by Johnny Allen and Sandy Hollway, was particularly impressed with the calibre and diversity of events from all across Australia, from the small-scale regional community events to the highly successful international event programs like APSA.

An international cultural initiative of the Queensland Government, APSA is a unique collaboration between CNN International, UNESCO and FIAPF-International Federation of Film Producers Associations. APSA honours the works of filmmakers across a region covering 70 countries, one third of the earth and half the world’s film output. Films are judged on cinematic excellence and the way in which they attest to their cultural origins. Winners in the 2009 Asia Pacific Screen Awards will be announced in a ceremony on Australia’s Gold Coast on November 26.

In accepting the award, Asia Pacific Screen Award’s Head of Marketing Sharyn Sawyer said the organisation was delighted to be recognised in such esteemed company as the Australian Open and the Queensland Department of Education and Training who were the other finalists in the category.

“None of this would be possible without the talented, hard-working and passionate team behind the scenes at APSA. The Award also goes to our friends at CNN who have embraced APSA as  one of their own,” Sharyn Sawyer said.

“It is an honour to receive this award as we head toward our third annual awards in a few weeks. APSA is still in its infancy and we are continually humbled by the support and encouragement that we receive from both the film community and the events industry.” APSA has attracted a record 212 film entries from 43 countries for the 2009 competition. The nominees announcement will be made on Monday, October 12. Winners are determined by the International Jury, headed by eminent Chinese filmmaker Huang Jianxin, ahead of the ceremony on November 26, on Australia’s Gold Coast.

Back to news

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.