Image Credit: 2016 APSL Recipient Mohanad Hayal

This week Temenggong Artists-In-Residence will host 2016’s Asia Pacific Screen Lab (APSL) recipients Yeo Siew Hua (Singapore) and Zain Duraie (Jordan).

Both filmmakers will undertake a seven-day residency, including workshops and mentorship from accomplished film editor, and Eric Rohmer’s long-time collaborator, Mary Stephen and Filipino screenwriter, director and author Doy del Mundo.

During this residency, Temenggong also screened documentary film Blush of Fruit by former APSL recipient Australia’s Jakeb Anhvu. His debut self-funded feature, Blush of Fruit was first premiered in the First Appearance competition at IDFA (2012) and went on to win Best Documentary at then Adelaide Film Festival (2013) and AIDC’s First Feature Competition for New Australian Talent (2014).

The APSL enables film co-productions by early career feature filmmakers from across the Asia Pacific, typically those who have made at least one feature film and are now ready for a larger undertaking. Temenggong supports APSL by hosting and organising the Temenggong Filmmakers’ Residency, an international arts residency programme at five colonial-styled conservation houses on Temenggong Road.

Back to news

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.