As entries close, the Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA) has announced a record number of applicants for the 2012 MPA (Motion Picture Association) APSA Academy Film Fund.

A total of 82 feature-length projects have been submitted from 67 of the region’s best-regarded filmmakers, representing 22 countries and areas across the globe.

Four projects will each be awarded MPA APSA development grants of USD$25,000 bringing the total investment over three years to USD$300,000. Established in 2010, the fund is intended to stimulate film production in the Asia Pacific.

The MPA APSA Film Fund is exclusive to APSA Academy members.

The grant recipients will be announced at the sixth annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards, on Friday November 23 in Brisbane, Australia.

Feature film projects dominated the entries with 54 submissions. A further 15 documentaries, nine children’s feature films and four animated feature films were received. The highest number of entries were submitted from the People’s Republic of China and the Islamic Republic of Iran. Entries were also submitted from countries including Australia, India, Israel, New Zealand, Sri Lanka, Thailand and Turkey.

APSA Artistic Director Maxine Williamson said: “The overwhelming number of entries this year confirms what we know – that the APSA Academy is a vital industry network that has been much needed in the Asia Pacific region. We are proud to be working with the Academy and developing the stories of Asia Pacific enabling these talented filmmakers to share their culture and stories with the world. I gratefully acknowledge the support of our funding partner in the Motion Picture Association (MPA).

“The calibre of filmmakers who have submitted projects is unparalleled.  Collectively, their accolades extend from national film awards to highly coveted awards and prizes from international festivals, including winners of the Cannes  Grand Prix, the Caméra d’Or and Un Certain Regard, Venice’s Golden Lion, Berlin’s Silver Bear, Locarno’s Golden Leopard, nominations for Rotterdam’s Tiger Award and Best Film from the European Film Academy and Asian Film Awards.”

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards, an initiative of the Queensland Government, Australia, is endorsed by UNESCO and in collaboration with FIAPF-International Federation of Film Producers’ Associations, in alliance with the European Film Academy and AFI | AACTA. The Awards recognise films from 70 countries and areas in Asia Pacific, a region that encompasses one third of the earth, is home to 4.5 billion people and produces half the world’s film.

Films are judged on cinematic excellence and the way in which they attest to their cultural origins.

A total of 34 films from 18 countries and areas across Asia Pacific have been nominated in the 2012 Asia Pacific Screen Awards. The International Jury, headed by Australia’s Jan Chapman, have assembled in Brisbane, Australia ahead of the APSA Ceremony on November 23.

WATCH THE CEREMONY WEBCAST LIVE on Friday November 23, 2012.

The APSA ceremony is televised to 44 countries across Asia, the Pacific and India via the ABC’s Australia Network. Within Australia, the APSA Ceremony will be broadcast on the SBS television network.

View the full list of 2012 APSA Nominee. 
Images and press kits available to download from:

Back to news

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.