There are just four weeks to go until entries close for the third annual Asia Pacific Screen Awards (APSA), with at least 50 countries vying for the region’s highest accolade in film. To date, APSA has taken receipt of over 120 film titles with 50 countries represented thus far. More than 200 titles are expected to enter before the cut off date: postmarked August 24, 2009.

The competition has seen a 20% increase so far in entries from 2008, a level of growth indicative of the region’s healthy 2008/2009 production slate.

Maxine Williamson, Associate Producer of the Awards Competition said, “It is enormously gratifying to see the competition grow each year as awareness continues to develop amongst the film practitioners of Asia-Pacific.”

“The quality of entries for 2009 is remarkable with heavy-hitters from the Asia-Pacific region represented alongside new and emerging talents combined with official entries from countries that have not previously submitted such as Tajikistan, Mongolia, Lao People’s Democratic Republic, Yemen and Fiji.”

“I am particularly pleased to see the strength of the Documentary and Animated Feature categories. We currently have 29 documentary and 12 Animation entries from the region,” Ms Williamson said.

Official Submitting Organisations in each country are encouraged to complete the submission process as soon as possible so as not to miss the deadline.

Members of the APSA Nominations Council, a distinguished panel of international film industry experts, will arrive in Brisbane, Australia in late September to shortlist up to five nominees in nine award categories with winners being determined by the 2009 International Jury in November and announced at the Awards Ceremony on November 26.

The APSAs acclaim, at a global level, the cinematic excellence and cultural diversity of the vast Asia-Pacific region in a unique collaboration with CNN International, UNESCO and FIAPF–International Federation of Film Producers Associations.

In 2009, Awards will be presented for the following categories:

1. Best Feature Film
2. Best Animated Feature Film
3. Best Documentary Feature Film
4. Best Children’s Feature Film
5. Achievement in Directing
6. Best Screenplay
7. Achievement in Cinematography
8. Best Performance by an Actress
9. Best Performance by an Actor

Three additional major awards will be presented for outstanding achievement:

1. FIAPF Award* FIAPF – International Federation of Film Producers Associations will determine the winner of the award for outstanding achievement in film in the Asia-Pacific region.

2. UNESCO Award* The United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Award for outstanding contribution to the promotion and preservation of cultural diversity through film.

3. Jury Grand Prize* The Jury can, at its discretion, present a further award: the Jury Grand Prize.

*Nominees and nominated films from all award categories are eligible for these prizes to be decided by the APSA Jury.

Back to news

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.