The Asia Pacific Screen Academy today unveiled all Jury members for the 16th Asia Pacific Screen Awards Ceremony, set to take place on Friday 3 November 2023 at Home of the Arts (HOTA) on Australia’s Gold Coast, on the traditional land of the Kombumerri families of the Yugambeh Language Region. 

Clara Law, a pioneer of Asian Australian cinema and an internationally acclaimed auteur filmmaker, will preside over the APSA International Jury in 2023.  

The APSA red carpet and gala ceremony event will be attended by nominees, jurors and special guests from across the 78 countries and areas of the Asia Pacific and will honour cinematic excellence from the vast and culturally diverse region. 

Running concurrently, the 5th Asia Pacific Screen Forum will take place from 1-4 November 2023 at HOTA. 

The four-day event will enable local filmmakers, nominees and international delegates to engage through a series of panels and presentations, roundtable discussions, networking events, workshops and screenings. 


This year’s APSA International Jury President, writer, director and producer, Clara Law (Australia) has been making features across two continents for almost 40 years. Her filmography includes Autumn Moon (1992), The Goddess of 1967 (2000), Floating Life (1996) and the documentary Letters to Ali (2004). Her most recent feature Drifting Petals (2021) was made across three of the places she has called home – Australia, Hong Kong and Macau – and won a prestigious Golden Horse Award for Best Director. 

Joining Jury President Clara Law on the 16th APSA International Jury: 

  • Malaysian performer Yeo Yann Yann, a multiple award-winner best known for her big-screen roles in Anthony Chen’s Ilo Ilo (2013) and Wet Season (2019), which saw her become a two-time Golden Horse Award and Asian Film Award winner. Her work in television has seen her nominated for an International Emmy (Invisible Stories, 2020) and she is currently nominated for a Hollywood Critics Association TV Award for American Born Chinese. 
  • Anna Katchko (Germany) is a highly successful producer working across multiple countries. Since the beginning of last year alone she has had four films receive major international acclaim; Ukrainian film Stepne won two awards at the Locarno Film Festival; Happiness, from Kazakhstan, won the Audience Award at the 2022 Berlinale and, also from Kazakhstan, Bauryna Salu is selected to premiere at the 2023 San Sebastian Film Festival, and Something like an Autobiography from Bangladesh will premiere in Busan 2023.
  • Hideho Urata (Japan, Singapore), acclaimed cinematographer on films including the multi-award winner A Land Imagined (2018), for which he won the APSA for Achievement in Cinematography, and most recently Plan 75, which received a Special Mention at the 2022 Cannes Film Festival and saw him nominated for an Asian Film Award for cinematography in 2023. 
  • Saudi Arabian film industry pioneer, producer Faisal Baltyuor. Currently the CEO of Muvi Studios, the production arm of biggest cinema chains in Saudi Arabia, he was formerly the CEO of the Saudi Film Council which was the first Saudi governmental entity founded to support the film industry in Saudi Arabia. He most recently co-produced the Sudanese feature Goodbye Julia, which was selected for Cannes Un Certain Regard in 2023. 

The APSA Youth, Animation and Documentary International Jury for 2023 will be chaired by Taiwanese filmmaker Midi Z, a writer, director and producer of both fiction and documentary features selected for Cannes (Nina Wu, 2019), Berlin (14 Apples, 2018) and beyond. He will be joined by Indian writer, director and producer Rima Das, a whose acclaimed 2017 film Village Rockstars, about a rebellious young girl who wants to form a rock band, was the first Assamese-language film to be India’s Oscars submission, and acclaimed documentary maker Hikaru Toda (Japan), whose APSA nominated 2017 feature Of Love & Law told the story of the first and only law firm in Japan run by an openly gay couple. 

Chair of the Asia Pacific Screen Academy Tracey Vieira said: 

“APSA is honoured to welcome such accomplished filmmakers to the Jury for the 16th Asia Pacific Screen Awards. The Jury will deeply engage with peers at the APSA Screen Forum and with Asia Pacific Screen Academy members whilst performing the important task of selecting the outstanding films and performances for the year. The APSA Academy proudly grows to be more than 1,500 members strong in 2023, reflecting the exceptional screen storytelling expertise of the region and the cultural diversity that makes up this vast area like never before.”  

The Asia Pacific Screen Awards and Forum are presented by the Asia Pacific Screen Academy with the support of major partners the City of Gold Coast, Screen Queensland, the Motion Picture Association and Griffith Film School, Griffith University. 

The full list of nominations for the 16th Asia Pacific Screen Awards and the full Forum programme will be announced on October 4. 

Tickets are now available for the Asia Pacific Screen Forum: 



[email protected]
Cathy Gallagher +61 416 227 282 | Alicia Brescianini +61 400 225 603  

Back to news

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.