The International Jury of the 2008 Asia Pacific Screen Awards, headed by Academy-Award nominated Australian director, Bruce Beresford begins its deliberations today on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia.

The Jury – five eminent international film identities – will meet this week (November 5-10) to determine winners of the second annual Awards, to be announced on the Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia on November 11.

The Jury members are each distinguished filmmakers. Bruce Beresford is joined by renowned Indian director and actress Aparna Sen, US producer Richard Rothschild (whose production credits include Tender Mercies and The Truman Show), Chinese director and Professor of the Beijing Film Academy Zheng Dongtian, and Hanna Lee, producer of the 2007 APSA Best Feature Film, the internationally acclaimed Miryang (Secret Sunshine), from the Republic of Korea.

The Jury will decide the winners of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards – the APSAs – from 32 nominees representing 17 countries.

“The Jury has a demanding but rewarding task ahead of them this week.  The quality and range of films for consideration is outstanding and genuinely reflects both the cultural diversity of the Asia-Pacific region and the phenomenal cinematic talent of its filmmakers,” said Des Power, Chairman of the Asia Pacific Screen Awards.

“It is a great honour for the Asia Pacific Screen Awards to have an International Jury of this calibre and I am grateful for the time and consideration they are giving to their important deliberations.”

Back to news

The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.