Nomination Details

Ceremony Year 2016

Nomination Detail

Winner, Achievement in Directing, 2016 

Feng Xiaogang emerged as one of Asia’s most commercially successful directors with searing black comedies that map the lives of ordinary people in a rapidly changing China. His wide-ranging films have been at the forefront of Chinese cinema with action caper IA World Without Thieves (2004), period fantasy The Banquet (2006), war epic Assembly (2007), and romantic comedies. His stunning earthquake drama Aftershock (2010) was awarded Best Feature Film at the 2010 APSA’s, and Feng was nominated for Achievement in Directing. Feng has been named Best Director three times at China’s prestigious Hundred Flowers Awards. In 2016, Feng once again reinvests genre forms with his 16th feature, the darkly comic I am Not Madame Bovary, which won the Golden Shell for Bet Film at the 64th San Sebastian Film Festival, and is nominated for five Golden Horse Awards.

APSA Winner Clip


The Asia Pacific Screen Academy expresses its respect for and acknowledgement of the South East Queensland Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander communities. We pay our respects to the Traditional Owners of country, including the custodial communities on whose land works are created and celebrated by the Asia Pacific Screen Awards. We acknowledge the continuing connection to land, waters and communities. We also pay our respects to Elders, past and emerging. We recognise the integral role Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and First Nations peoples continue to play in storytelling and celebration spaces.

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.